Walltown Children’s Theater!

After weeks of searching for another job (not that waiting tables at TGI Friday’s isn’t fulfilling…), I’ve found a good start towards one, and it’s in our neighborhood doing pretty much exactly what I want to do for the rest of my life.

A few blocks down the street is a place called the Walltown Children’s Theater. It was started by a man and his former wife who used to do big time theater stuff, like Broadway, and they decided that they wanted to do theater with children. They moved here and started this program where basically they put on productions with kids from our area, and they do great work. They also have music programs for children and adults, and even kids with special needs. I’m going to start teaching class piano to beginners on Saturday mornings, from 10:30 to 11:30, and 11:30 to 12:30,and then once a week I’ll help with a music class at a nearby park for kids with special needs, to help them sing or play or whatever they want to do. I don’t know too much about all of it yet, but all things considered it’s pretty much a great  model for the type of community music program I want to do in the future in DC. They have both grants and private donations, and I’m hoping to learn some of the behind the scenes grant writing stuff and getting off the ground stuff. I may have some more work with them as I stay there, but overall I’m super excited.

3 comments

  1. Susan · September 26, 2008

    Brian- That sounds very exciting! Congrats. I have done similar things with dance…teaching to children with special needs, and also using dance as therapy in a domestic violence shelter for women and children. I’m sure you will enjoy using your musical gifts for something so special!

  2. ric booth · September 26, 2008

    This is great news Brian! Enjoy. Savor. Soak it in.

  3. Maggie · September 28, 2008

    Brian, that’s so awesome!!! And I didn’t know that that was what you wanted to do in the future! How fantastic. And that’s kind of like my dream except with music instead of art. I am so thankful that God has given the gift of the arts! We should catch up soon…

Leave a Reply

