Relocating to Rutba

I have arrived, so to speak, at my new abode in Durham, NC. Actually, I’m visiting with my brother and his wife and son at the moment, but I’m excited to say that I’ve begun the transition to my new place for the next 10 months.

The last time I was here was in May, and I remember being very nervous for the weekend I spent with the people who will now be my roommates. I was nervous because they are just so cool. They’ve done things like going to Iraq at the beginning of the war, protest at the School for Americas, and write awesome books. But as I got to know them even just a little bit, I saw that they’re just people too, which is great.

My roommate’s name is Matt, and I think he and I are going to get along well. We’re both pretty young guys, and it seems like we’re interested in a lot of the same things. I think I’m still trying to figure out what I’m thinking, what to make of all of this. I have this sense of openness, of uncertainty about what’s going to happen, but also a readiness to experience whatever God has for me.

All in all, I’m excited for “Life Together” at the Rutba House. I’m excited for neighbors, kids, having a spiritual mentor for the first time in my life, and for reading. I have never been around so many books in my life (and I grew up with my parents). This is going to be a really good experience.

Leave a Reply

