Re-Entry

I am home from 50 days in the most beautiful place I’ve ever been. The Kenya Global Project was out of my frame of reference; it was so different than anything I’ve ever done in my life that it has no comparison. It was completely different than Gateway (the Philly Urban Project) in many respects which was good, because it kept me from constantly comparing the two projects. I’m going to post some of my journal entries from the summer on this blog as well as some thoughts integrating some of the observations I made throughout the summer.

A quick overview of the trip: 40 Americans from many different states and schools, as well as a family of 5, left for Kenya on June 10, arriving in Nairobi on the 11th. We spent our first 10 days next to a little town outside of Nairobi, called Ngong which is right on the edge of the Ngong Hills. Here we did our orientation week, getting to know each other and our leaders, learn a bit of Kiswahili, and learn about Kenyan culture. We also go to know and begin to love 4 students from Kenya- Joy, Charity, Paul, and Odira. From the 21st of June through the 11th of July we were dispersed in teams of 2 or 3 throughout the country on assignments ranging from teaching to working in hospitals to preaching to working with refugees. My assignment was to Ol Kalou in the Central Province, not far from the Great Rift Valley. After 3 weeks, we returned to Nairobi, staying in Kasarani which is just on the edge of the city. Ten days later, we headed for the coast via train to Mombasa and spent 6 days right next to the magnificent Indian Ocean.

Over the course of the next few weeks and months I’ll post thoughts from my journal and do some synthesizing of my experiences. I’ll say now that this summer was not at all what I expected when I signed up for the trip. I wrestled through issues that I did not wish for, and surprisingly did not feel as challenged with some parts of the trip that I expected to be challenged with.

Here are the books that I read this summer (All of them I recommend): N.T. Wright’s Evil and the Justice of God, Paula Harris and Doug Schaupp’s Being White, The Autobiography of Martin Luther King edited by Clayborne Carson, and most influentially The Brothers Karamozov by Fyodor Dostoevsky.

Happy reading and thanks for reading my blog. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

